Sync Clipboard

This guide will dive into Sync Clipboard.

Sync your clipboard via the Sync Clipboard app. This allows you to sync text already written without inputting it manually using Sync Writing. It is best suited for syncing existing documents, web pages, and chat histories.

📘

Sync Clipboard on Desktop Only

Sync Clipboard is only available on the desktop application, not on the web application.

OS Clipboard

The clipboard is a buffer that many operating systems have as a temporary storage for transferring within and between application programs. It is commonly accessed by copying/cutting data into it and pasting data out of it.

Your clipboard contains the last data you cut or copied. By default, the keyboard shortcut to cut is Cmd/Ctrl-X, and to copy is Cmd/Ctrl-C. You can also use the OS context menu (mouse right-click > Cut/Copy).

Sync Clipboard sync new Memory Blocks by directly looking at what you input into your OS clipboard.

Screenshot of example of copying textScreenshot of example of copying text

Screenshot of example of copying text

Enabling Monitoring

Open the Sync Clipboard app by clicking on the clipboard icon in the top right corner.

Turn on/off clipboard syncing by clicking on the toggle switch.

Screenshot of Sync Clipboard being activeScreenshot of Sync Clipboard being active

Screenshot of Sync Clipboard being active

When activated, the app will monitor your OS clipboard continuously and sync any text it detects to your Memory Stack.

🚧

Mac Permissions

With Mac, you may need to restart Personal AI after granting it permission to access the system events (when using Sync Clipboard). Without restarting, Sync Clipboard may not function correctly.

Restarting Personal AI is again necessary if other system event permissions are granted for different applications on the computer.

Automatic and Manual Syncing

Text added via Sync Clipboard will be synced automatically after 60 seconds (by default). The green circle left of the text shows the elapsed time. During that time, you can trigger the syncing immediately by clicking the green check mark. You can decline the syncing by clicking the "X" mark.

Screenshot of copied text syncingScreenshot of copied text syncing

Screenshot of copied text syncing

You can also review the clipboard Memory Blocks in the app, delete them, and open the Stack page at that Memory Block. Note that deleting Memory Blocks cannot be undone.

Screenshot of Memory Blocks synced via clipboardScreenshot of Memory Blocks synced via clipboard

Screenshot of Memory Blocks synced via clipboard

Using Sync Clipboard, your personal AI stores the sources of the copied text, such as Firefox, MS Word, Slack, and others. The source is displayed as an icon next to your Memory Block. If the source cannot be identified, it will display the clipboard icon to still differentiate it from Sync Speech and Sync Writing.

If your clipboard contains data other than text, your personal AI will ignore it. To preserve those, use Sync Writing.

Sync Clipboard Settings

Video Tutorial

📘

The above video displays an outdated version of your personal AI. We will create new videos to showcase our new interface.

Settings

You can customize how Sync Clipboard reacts to items in your clipboard.

Click on the gear icon to display the settings.

Screenshot of Sync Clipboard setting iconScreenshot of Sync Clipboard setting icon

Screenshot of Sync Clipboard setting icon

Confirmation

By default, Sync Clipboard will sync the copied texts after 60 seconds. This can be changed to discarding the copied texts after 60 seconds (thus requiring manually accepting of every clipboard syncing).

To enable manual acceptance of Sync Clipboard, toggle the first option on.

Screenshot of Sync Clipboard setting - manual confirmationScreenshot of Sync Clipboard setting - manual confirmation

Screenshot of Sync Clipboard setting - manual confirmation

Pausing

Instead of turning Sync Clipboard off, you can pause syncing for a set amount of time. Sync Clipboard will automatically resume after the set timer. This can be used when you need to copy a lot of text that isn't relevant to your Memory Stack (e.g., data table, URL, code block, etc.).

To pause Sync Clipboard, toggle the second option on and select a time from the drop-down menu.

To cancel the pause, click on "Turn Off."

Screenshot of Sync Clipboard setting - pause syncingScreenshot of Sync Clipboard setting - pause syncing

Screenshot of Sync Clipboard setting - pause syncing

Minimum Length

By default, copied text equal or smaller than 5 words won't trigger Sync Clipboard. This prevents Sync Clipboard from syncing non-sentences like passwords, URLs, etc.

To change this setting, change the number in the third option.

To turn off this setting, type 0.

Screenshot of Sync Clipboard setting - minimum lengthScreenshot of Sync Clipboard setting - minimum length

Screenshot of Sync Clipboard setting - minimum length

Sync Writing App

If you want to edit the copied content or preserve images, hyperlinks, or the formatting before syncing it, we recommend Sync Writing. Visit our Sync Writing detailed guide.